10th Album Update #1

‘sup, if you’re eager for an update, there you have it!

Last time I told you about a new album on the way, and it’s still in progress. It’s going great, I think I’ve made it at least halfway through in terms of recording. Then I’ll have to mix it, but that should take less time.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 9.15.19 am

So far, I have 15 songs. Not sure if all of them will be on the album, I have doubts on a couple of them, but anyway it’s not gonna be a short album. There’s a 7-minute song, and two are about 6 and a half minutes. The others are just between 3:30 and 4:30 or 5 tops.

The sound is vary. It’s a very colourful album… wait, when I say “colourful” I mean that there are different styles and moods, it’s not a joyous and sparkly album. Quite the opposite, actually. Overall, it’s as dark as “Behind The Black Curtain” and less heavy than “Caleb’s Curse”. However, there will be a couple of surprises if they make it to the final cut.

I’m recording new versions of In Daybreaks and Where Hedges Never Grow from my 2011 rookie album “Behind The Black Curtain” indeed. If you’re wondering why, it’s because I like those songs and I believe they do deserve a more professional treatment. However, if they don’t turn out good they won’t be on the album. But yeah, I’m re-recording them.

More song titles.

If you remember my last post, you know that songs from the cancelled album “Magma” will be there. These songs are called A Finite State, All Is Lost All Is Found, Counting Stars (which had a generous re-writing session), Halcyon Days, Another Love Song.

I went through the archives of my life and unearthed a couple of pre-MTATT songs that I never finished. The first one is called Mellowland for now, but the title will change cos the song doesn’t have lyrics yet, and it’s dated 2004. The second one is To The Edge, and it has had lyrics since 2009.

Then I have four brand new tracks.

  • Bloodsports – which is also the title of the album at the moment.
  • Las Bordes
  • The Amber Hole (Again) – which technically is from the 80s-inspired project of last Summer, but it’s been completely re-written and re-engineered, and merged with two other songs of the same project. Basically, the only thing that survived from the original demos are the lyrics.
  • La Photothèque – this is already done. The very first song that I completely recorded on an iPad. Vocals and guitars too. It’s not in French, just the title.

Here’s a screenshot of the table I usually have when I record albums.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 8.44.19 am.png
Green means “done”. Red means “to do”. Grey means “not needed”.

As you can see I’m being very lazy on recording vocals, and Mellowland and The Amber Hole are the ones that need more work. Overall I’d say, however, that the album is already in pretty good shape.

For now ideally the title of the album is “Bloodsports”, but that might change. It’s cleaner and less dirty than “Caleb’s Curse” as well as less experimental. It’s more straight-forward, but it has a lot of weird sounds. I love how it’s turning out!

It’s not a “Behind The Black Curtain II”. It’s not a “Magma II”. It’s just a brand new album.

That’s it for today, be nice!

Carlo

Leave a Reply

