“Wings”, and Farewell to 2016

Hello folks,

Today I’m here to give you a brand new song. It’s called “Wings” and it’s about the story of Icarus. It’s a sort of prologue to the beginning of My Terminal And The Trip. Back in 2011 I released my rookie album called “Behind The Black Curtain”, and the other title I thought of for the album was “Icarus’ Revenge”. Now Icarus lives in this song. However, there are few references to “The Twelve Tasks of Asterix”.

Anyway, you can listen to the song here

“Wings” was one of the songs of my unreleased Wave Avenue project. If you remember, last Summer I was working on a little side project of 80’s music mixed up with some metal guitars. Eventually I cancelled the project because generally speaking I lost interest and inspiration, but this song was cool.

It was a sort of black sheep of the whole album. The other songs weren’t that dark and goth, the general mood was more electro and less guitarish. However, I thought that “Wings” was cool. A few nights ago, I was sorting files on my computer and saw the session of the song. I opened it up and it was basically finished, except for the guitars. So I recorded them and call it a day. I downtuned guitars by 3 semitones, I’ve never gone that low with six strings.

Some memorabilia. Here’s a scan of the paper I used to write the lyrics. My handwritten is a bit ugly, but I think you’ll figure out the words.

I imagine “Wings” as one of those songs featured in the soundtrack of one of those cheesy, stupid goth movies that probably aren’t goth at all. But since there’s no movie that features “Wings”, mine remains just a fantasy.

Anyway, that’s all for today. I’ll see you in 2017 with more serious music and attitude. I’m still working on new material, and yes, it’s going on very nicely  🙂

Happy Christmas, be nice

Carlo

Leave a Reply

